Seventh Ministerial Conference on Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation (CAREC)

Baku, Azerbaijan: 19–21 November 2008


The 7th Ministerial Conference on Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation (CAREC) marked a turning point in the CAREC Program. With the endorsement of key strategic documents, the Program is now entering the implementation phase. "I believe our progress is a testament to the value we all see in working together and a sign of the great promise our cooperation holds for the future of this region," said ADB President Haruhiko Kuroda in his Keynote Address to the Conference.

Ministers and Senior Officials from the eight CAREC countries issued a Joint Ministerial Statement acknowledging the increased mobilization of investments in the priority areas of transport, energy, and trade in 2008; endorsing documents that will guide the Program in the years ahead; and recognizing the importance of more actively involving the private sector in regional economic cooperation. The Conference endorsed:

Full conference papers and presentations can be accessed through the interactive agenda .

The Ministerial Conference was Chaired by Shahin Mustafayev, Minister of Economic Development of Azerbaijan, and Co-Chaired by Xiaoyu Zhao, ADB Vice President, Operations 1.


A total of 147 invited participants attended the Ministerial Conference. They are

  • Ministers and Senior Officials from the governments of CAREC participating countries-Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, People's Republic of China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Mongolia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan;
  • Representatives of CAREC's partner multilateral institutions-ADB, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, International Monetary Fund, Islamic Development Bank, United Nations Development Programme, and World Bank;
  • Observers from other bilateral, multilateral, and regional organizations;
  • Delegates from Germany, Japan, Pakistan, and Turkey; and
  • CAREC advisors and regional cooperation coordinators.

© Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation (CAREC) 2009