Fifth Energy Sector Coordinating Committee Meeting

Urumqi, Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, People's Republic of China (PRC): 17 October 2006

Delegates from Azerbaijan, the People’s Republic of China (PRC), the Kyrgyz Republic, Mongolia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan attended the meeting. Pakistan participated as an observer. The Asian Development Bank (ADB), the Islamic Development Bank (IsDB), and the World Bank were also represented. They jointly reviewed the Energy Sector Strategic Action Plans (ESSAP) for the CAREC countries.

The World Bank presented the progress report on the activities of the Energy Sector Coordinating Committee since the last Senior Officials Meeting (SOM) in April 2006, while ADB presented on the progress made on CAREC Members Electricity Regulators Forum (CMERF) and Energy Efficiency Initiative. Each country delegation also presented their country’s energy sector development strategy.

The meeting was cochaired by the PRC (Ms. Yan Xiaolu, Deputy Director General, State Electricity Regulatory Commission of China) and the World Bank (Mr. Raghuveer Sharma, Team Leader, Central Asia Energy Programs).



© Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation (CAREC) 2009